“The Carp” published in Tar River Poetry 2015

The Carp

Finally a day of cooler weather arrived.

A deep sky, the wind a dry balm on skin.

 

In the deep sills of limestone dormers

I worked to clear away clutter, to take

 

down the things I’d brought, installed –

some books, my knitting, a fan, one lamp –

 

to throw open the winows, to send the breeze

scudding across my desk, my bed, my clutch

 

of blue hydrangeas, three lilies, set in a glass

cube vase. Just as I breathed the sweet, light air

 

mowers in bandanas revved up their gas-fueled

trimmers, that irksome, nasal trill, rasping

 

against the tree-lined quad, otherwise pastoral.

This is how it is, the way of things, flip-sided.

 

I hiked down to the lake to seek the breaking

wave, to watch dragonflies mate, to feel serene

 

in weightless stroking. But then, a carp brushed

along my leg. That scaly touch frightened me,

 

as if it were a dead man’s limb floating up

from murky depths, and yet too firm, not bloated.

 

It nipped at me. A turtle? No. It nipped again.

I struck out for shore, fled that which I feared,

 

that piscine kiss, that lurking foe, kicking,

flailing against its soft and innocent lips.

 

I’d like to say I sat and dripped under lush pines,

chafing of my foolishness, but soon mosquitoes

 

chased me back to screened-in comfort,

to the blaring workmen’s shouts and tools. Alas.

Leave a Reply

