“Travel Plans” published in The Bear River Review 2015

Travel Plans

 

Once, along the earth’s wide curve, I set

my trajectory and wandered, parallel

to its axial spine, molten as its core.

 

Now, a globe in my study spins.

Pastel nations blur to a single continent,

mottled by seas whose brine tastes of tears.

 

I brush my palms against the world

and hope its lines of latitude, magnetic north,

will show me next the way to you.

 

I pinpoint your bed, six time zones hence,

with a plotter’s precision. You rise from sleep

to take my call. “Hello,” I say. “Who’s this?” you ask.

Leave a Reply

